Radiation Safety Act 1975

The Radiological Council is an independant statutory authority appointed under the Radiation Safety Act in Western Australia to assist the Minister for Health [external website] to protect public health and to maintain safe practices in the use of radiation.

The Radiation Safety Act regulates the keeping and use of radioactive substances, irradiating apparatus (eg x-ray equipment) and certain electronic products (eg lasers, sun-tanning units and UV transilluminators). The Act applies to both ionising and non-ionising radiation. Registration and licensing are the principal means by which the use of radiation is regulated.

Daily administration of the Act is handled by personnel of the Radiation Health Branch acting through the Secretary of the Council. The Branch has separate responsibilities to the Department of Health and is under the direction of the Managing Health Physicist.


Radiation Safety on Mine Sites

Radiation Safety on certain mine sites is also subject to regulation under Part 16 of the Mines Safety and Inspection Act 1994. This is administered by the Resources Safety Division of the Department of Mines and Petroleum [external website] in Western Australia.


Commonwealth Government Agencies

Radiation use by Commonwealth Government agencies in Australia is regulated by the Commonwealth's Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency [external website] (ARPANSA) under the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Act 1999.


Page last revised: 4 April 2012